What does a sorority president do?

27 Mar

The eminent archon of any sorority is its president. They are just more than a pretty face to represent their house. They are responsible for all 150 of their members, their actions and anything that happens in their chapter.

Did you know that the president, not the guilty member, is the person who gets arrested if anything illegal happens within a sorority house? I sure didn’t until I interviewed Tri Delta’s house president, Heather Post.

Here’s a quick bio of Heather.
Name: Heather Ann Post
Year: Junior
Major: Elementary Ed.
Hometown: West Lafayette, Ind.

Heather and I at the Super Bowl party.

I was able to get some really interesting information from Heather about what she does as house president and what her responsibilities are. I tried asking her what her favorite fraternity is but she gave me no comment on that one! Still, she did answer all my other probing question.

Q: How much time do you put into this position?
A: I want to say 20 hours a week…but I would say it’s more along like 40 hours a week. Girls are texting and emailing me at all hours of the day and I’m constantly thinking of house related issues. I’m in a Tri Delta mindset when I wake up and when I go to sleep.

Q: What are your main responsibilities?
A: Overseeing chapter, every committee in the house, officer team and most importantly being the face, spokesperson and role model to our women for Tri Delta nationally, the Purdue community and the West Lafayette/Lafayette community.

Q: What is your favorite part of the position?
A: Being able to work closely with everyone in the house: sisters, officers and advisers. I like creating and developing intimate relationships with all the sisters.

Q: What is the worst part of being president?
A: It definitely is having to be the bad guy to my friends. I hate reprimanding them or punishing them. I don’t want house issues to dissolve valued friendships.

Q: Why did you run for this position?
A: I love Tri Delta and wanted to make a positive change and have a positive influence on all our members. Getting first in room picks was also a plus! I also am kind of obsessed with my gavel I get to use during chapter meetings.

Q: Do you feel like people treat you differently now that you’re president? Better or worse?
A: Yes, I have definitely seen a change in people’s demeanor toward me. I would have to say both for better and for the worse. I think people have a lot of respect for me and aren’t afraid to approach me. But I feel like they also, at times, feel like I’m monitoring their behavior so they don’t approach me in social situations as much.

Q: What do people blame you for the most?
A: Definitely staff problems. If the kitchen staff makes a mistake or makes food that people don’t like, they automatically think I had some part in the decision making process, which I don’t. It’s frustrating because I only want the best for the house and strive to do so.

Q: What has been the funniest moment while being president?
A: One time an alumna called me on my personal phone thinking it was the house phone. She was very upset when I didn’t answer the call with “Delta Delta Delta, how can I help ya help ya help ya?” Apparently back in the good ol’ days, sisters took turns answering the phone with that greeting. She was very adamant about implementing that again. I’ve pitched the idea but no one’s really been too gung ho so I think we’ll abandon that plan.

Do you have any questions for Heather? If you do, leave a comment and she’ll get back to you!

Leave a comment